View all newsletters
Receive our newsletter - data, insights and analysis delivered to you
  1. News
November 19, 2020

SECNAV reveals names of two future US Virginia-class submarines

Secretary of the Navy Kenneth Braithwaite has revealed the names of the US Navy’s two future Virginia-class attack submarines.

Secretary of the Navy Kenneth Braithwaite has revealed the names of the US Navy ’s two future Virginia-class attack submarines.

The future USS Tang (SSN 805) and USS Wahoo (SSN 806) will be named after the two World War I I submarines. I t marks the third time the two names are used for US Navy submarines.

Braithwaite said: “The success in battle both previous namesakes endured will undoubtedly bring great pride to the future crews of USS Tang and USS Wahoo.

“Along with the previously named USS Barb (SSN 804), these boats will honour the strong traditions and heritage of the silent service.”

The first vessel to bear the name Tang was the Balao-class submarine USS Tang (SS-306), which was launched in 1943.

The Tang-class of diesel submarines, USS Tang (SS-563), was the second submarine that was commissioned in 1951.

The Gato-class submarine USS Wahoo (SS-238) was the first to be named Wahoo and was commissioned after the US entered World War I I .

The second vessel, Tang-class submarine USS Wahoo (SS-565), was commissioned in 1952.

Braithwaite added: “Naming Virginia class submarines is a unique opportunity to reclaim submarine names that carry inspirational records of achievement.”

I n September this year, the US Navy christened its new Virginia-class fast-attack submarine, the future USS Montana (SSN 794), at Huntington I ngalls I ndustries (HI I ) Newport News Shipbuilding division.

I n April, the US Navy commissioned USS Delaware (SSN 791), another Virginia-class attack submarine, to further strengthen its undersea combat capabilities.

Related Companies

NEWSLETTER Sign up Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. The top stories of the day delivered to you every weekday. A weekly roundup of the latest news and analysis, sent every Monday. The defence industry's most comprehensive news and information delivered every month.
I consent to GlobalData UK Limited collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy


Thank you for subscribing to Naval Technology