The Indian Navy has launched the fourth Visakhapatnam-class destroyer, Surat (YD 12707), and the third Nilgiri-class stealth frigate, Udaygiri (YD 12652).

Indian Defence Minister Rajnath Singh attended the launch ceremony at Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders’ (MDL) facility in Mumbai, India.

Surat is being built under the Project 15B (P 15B), which involves construction of four Visakhapatnam-class guided-missile destroyers.

The new destroyers are improved variant of the Indian Navy’s Kolkata-class destroyers.

Surat has been built using a block construction method, involving hull construction at two separate locations, which were later assembled at MDL’s facility in Mumbai.

The first Visakhapatnam-class destroyer was commissioned in November last year.

The Nilgiri-class frigates are being built under the Indian Navy’s Project 17A (P 17A), which involves the production of seven frigates.

Under P 17A, four ships are being built at MDL, while three are being constructed by Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers.

The frigates under the 17A project are follow on of the P17 Shivalik-class frigates. The upgraded variant offers advanced weapons and sensors, improved stealth features and platform management systems.

The Directorate of Naval Design (DND) has designed the ships of both P15B and P17A projects.

DND is an organisation that oversees all the design related activities of the Indian Navy’s warships.

According to the Indian Ministry of Defence, the order for about 75% of the systems and equipment required during the building phase were ordered by MDL from indigenous companies including micro, small and medium enterprises.