UK Defence Procurement Minister Stuart Andrew has revealed that the Royal Navy’s fifth Type 26 City-class frigates will be named the future HMS Sheffield.

Once in-service with the Royal Navy, the advanced and upgraded submarine hunter will serve as the fourth vessel to have Sheffield in its name.

The announcement was made at the Sheffield facility of the UK-based engineering solutions provider Chesterfield Special Cylinders.

As a major supplier to the UK Government’s multi-billion-pound Type 26 frigate programme, the company manufactures high-pressure gas storage systems for the City-class vessels.

Andrew said: “HMS Sheffield will be at the forefront of our world-leading Royal Navy for decades to come, providing cutting-edge protection for our aircraft carriers and nuclear deterrent, and offering unrivalled capability at sea.

“HMS Sheffield will be at the forefront of our world-leading Royal Navy for decades to come.”

“From north to south, these ships are truly a national endeavour, built on centuries of British expertise and supporting thousands of businesses like Chesterfield Special Cylinders across the UK.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“Defence boosts the economy of Yorkshire and the Humber economy by £232m every year and it’s only right the region’s significant contribution to our national security is recognised by the naming of HMS Sheffield.”

In addition to this, the sixth City-class frigate will be named HMS Newcastle, UK Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson revealed during a visit to the Tyne.

The two new vessels will join HMS Glasgow, HMS Belfast, HMS Cardiff, HMS Birmingham and HMS London. The name of the last ship has yet to be announced by the UK Ministry of Defence (MoD).

The first three ships of the Type 26 frigate class have already been ordered by the Royal Navy for a total cost of £3.7bn.

Construction of all vessels in the class will be carried out on the Clyde and help secure work for more than 4,000 people in the country.