The Royal Netherlands Navy (RNLN) has received a mission planning and analysis system (MPAS) in the final operative configuration, for the NH90 NFH medium twin naval helicopters, from AgustaWestland, a unit of Finmeccanica.

The system delivery follows the successful completion of acceptance tests and operational verifications at the AgustaWestland Helicopter Support Systems facility in Sesto Calende and at the De Kooy Naval Base in the Netherlands.

The MPAS is based on AgustaWestland’s proven multi-helicopter flight and mission planning solution, the Skyflight planning system.
AgustaWestland chief executive officer, Daniele Romiti, said that the system will help the Royal Netherlands Navy’s crew in maximising operational effectiveness.

Designed to provide over-the-horizon capability, the NH90 NFH supports missions including anti-surface warfare, anti-air warfare (AAW), vertical replenishment (VERTREP), search and rescue (SAR), troop transport and mine laying.

Royal Netherlands Air Force mission planning and analysis system NH90 helicopter programme manager, Sjaak Snoeren, said: "This is the start of the operational usage of Skyflight under the umbrella of customer logistic support (CLS)."

"The system will help the Royal Netherlands Navy’s crew in maximising operational effectiveness."

The NH90 programme is managed by NH Industries industrial consortium involving AgustaWestland (32%), Eurocopter (62.5%) and Fokker Aerostructures (5.5%), as well as NATO Helicopter Management Agency (NAHEMA) representing France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Portugal.

AgustaWestland, as part NH90 programme framework, is responsible for the development of the main transmission, tail drive shafts, hydraulic system, automatic flight control system, rear ramp, rear fuselage, the T700/6E1 engine solution installation and on-board computers.

An earlier total of 20 NH90 NFH units were ordered by the Royal Netherlands Navy.

The company has received a total of 529 firm orders by 19 armed forces in 14 countries including the Netherlands, France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Greece, Spain and Belgium in Europe, as well as Australia, New Zealand and Oman.