Huntington Ingalls Industries’ (HII) Ingalls Shipbuilding division has won a contract modification for the America-class amphibious assault ship ‘LHA 9’.

Awarded by the US Navy, the contract is valued at $113.6m.

The contract modification will allow the long-lead-time material and advance procurement activities for the assault vessel.

According to HII, the latest modification contract takes the total advance funding for the amphibious assault ship to $651m.

In April, HII secured a fourth contract modification valued at $107m, while the third contract modification, worth $145m, was awarded to the shipbuilding division in June last year.

Ingalls Shipbuilding president Kari Wilkinson said: “We appreciate the partnership we have with the navy and their continued commitment to this important ship.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

“Not only will it provide capability to our navy fleet, but it also sustains hundreds of jobs across the country within our vast network of suppliers in support of construction.”

HII claimed that Ingalls is the only ‘builder of large-deck amphibious ships’ for the US Navy.

In 1966, Ingalls Shipbuilding division built its first amphibious assault ship, the Iwo Jima-class USS Tripoli (LPH 10).

Since then, Ingalls has built five Tarawa-class (LHA 1) ships and eight Wasp-class (LHD 1) vessels.

In 2014, Ingalls built the first in the new America-class of amphibious assault ships (LHA 6). The second ship in the class, USS Tripoli (LHA 7), was delivered to service last year.

In August 2021, USS Tripoli (LHA 7) successfully completed its final contract trials (FCT).

Construction of amphibious assault ship Bougainville (LHA 8) is currently underway.