UK Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson has revealed that the British Royal Navy’s eighth City-class Type 26 frigate will be named HMS Edinburgh.

HMS Edinburgh represents the seventh warship to be named in honour of Scotland’s capital city.

The series of eight new 60ft-long City-class, anti-submarine warfare frigates are designed to offer enhanced warfighting capabilities, as well as help protect the UK’s nuclear submarines.

Lord Provost of Edinburgh Frank Ross said: “The last HMS Edinburgh famously retired from the Royal Navy’s fleet in 2013. Five years later, we are thrilled a new ship will be named in the city’s honour.

“Built on centuries of history, she will be the seventh ship to carry the HMS Edinburgh title. It will be a truly Scottish ship, built on the Clyde, and I hope she will visit us in the Port of Leith on her maiden voyage when the time comes.

“It will be a truly Scottish ship, built on the Clyde.”

“We’ve always enjoyed strong ties with the Royal Navy and the many hundreds of personnel who have served aboard the HMS Edinburgh vessels over the years. I’m sure the new ship will reinforce this bond.”

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Type 26 frigates will be built on the Clyde under a £3.7bn programme, which will be supported by suppliers across the country and sustain 4,000 jobs. The vessels are designed to replace the Royal Navy’s Type 23 frigates.

The first three ships have already been ordered under the programme, which are HMS Glasgow, HMS Cardiff, and HMS Belfast.

In the second batch of Type 26 warships will be HMS Edinburgh, HMS Birmingham, HMS Sheffield, HMS Newcastle, and HMS London.

The lead frigate, HMS Glasgow, will enter service in the mid-2020s.